Arent Weevers: Once So Bright

17.500,00 Prices include VAT.

Copyright/Artist © Arent Weevers, The Netherlands
Year of production: Coming soon
Time: 2’56”, loop
Medium: 3D stereoscopic video installation with sound
Technique/Material: 3D monitor 65 inch, brightsign player, 3D Glasses

Digital work
Exclusive: No
Edition: 2/5  + 2 AP. One edition offered at UNPAINTED artstore

Size Projector Size: 25 cm x 36 cm x 37 cm (HxWxD)
Weight: 7,8 kg

Incl. VAT, excl. shipping costs
(Panasonic ST PT-CW331 RE projector and 3D Glasses (€ 3.500,-) are not included).

Premiere: Gallery ‘See the Vide’ – Theater Hengelo|The Netherlands, February and April 2020

Delivery time: 14 days

As we lie on the bed wearing 3D glasses, looking upwards, they reach us from an endless deep. Very slowly. What are they, these glimmers of light in the darkness?  The closer they get the more form they acquire. They are very young children, some of them still babies. One by one they come and they go. One doubles in size and then splits up and changes from colour to black and white. Free of the background they float in space. Touchable with the fingertips until they disappear again.

Despite this peaceful beginning it turns out that Once So Bright is not quite so heavenly after all.  Particularly as the images present you with an atmosphere of paradoxes: light/dark; reality/illusion; transparency/lack of transparency; close by/far away; happy/sorrowful. The music of composer David Dramm, dissonant yet soothing at the same time, strengthens this perception.

Once So Bright is about the loss of a dearly loved child and the wish to bring him/her back. Everlasting life for your dear ones – for many a dream. Yet a dream which is becoming closer to reality each day. With the unlimited possibilities of biotechnology – cloning – as a solution.

This work of art poses existential questions for science, religion and art. It is a culture-critical work which makes visible the relationship between man and emerging technologies.

Additional information

Weight7.8 kg

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Search

Arent Weevers: Once So Bright

17.500,00 Preise inkl. MwSt.

Copyright/Artist © Arent Weevers, Niederlande
Produktionsjahr: demnächst erhältlich
Länge: 2′ 56″, Schleife
Medium: 3D-Stereoskopische Videoinstallation mit Ton
Technique/Material: 3D-Monitor 65 Zoll, Brightsigne-Player, 3D-Brillen

Digitale Arbeit
Exklusiv: Nein
Auflage: 2/5 + 2 AP. Eine Ausgabe im UNPAINTED Kunstladen

Projektor Größe: 25 cm x 36 cm x 37 cm (HxWxD)
Gewicht: 7,8 kg

Inkl. Mehrwertsteuer, ohne Versandkosten
(Panasonic ST PT-CW331 RE-Projektor und 3D-Blasses (€3.500,-) sind nicht enthalten).

Try-Out: Premiere: Galerie ‚See the Vide‘-Theater Hengelo | Niederlande, Februar und April 2020

Lieferzeit: 14 Tage

Nicht vorrätig

Während wir mit einer 3D-Brille auf dem Bett liegen und nach oben schauen, erreicht es uns aus einer endlosen Tiefe. Sehr langsam. Was ist das, dieses Glühen in der Dunkelheit? Je näher es kommt, desto mehr Form nimmt es an. Es sind sehr kleine Kinder, einige von ihnen noch Babys. Eines nach dem anderen kommen sie und gehen. Man verdoppelt die Größe und spaltet sich dann auf und wechselt von Farbe zu Schwarz-Weiß. Frei vom Hintergrund schweben sie im All. Berührbar mit den Fingerspitzen, bis sie wieder verschwinden.

Trotz dieses friedlichen Beginns stellt sich heraus, dass Once So Bright doch nicht ganz so himmlisch ist. Zumal die Bilder Ihnen eine Atmosphäre der Paradoxien bieten: Hell/dunkel; Realität/Illusion; Transparenz/mangelnde Transparenz; in der Nähe; glücklich/schmerzlich. Die Musik des Komponisten David Dramm, dissonant und zugleich beruhigend, stärkt diese Wahrnehmung.

In Once So Bright geht es um den Verlust eines geliebten Kindes und den Wunsch, ihn zurückzubringen. Ewiges Leben für Ihre Lieben – für viele ein Traum. Und doch ein Traum, der sich jeden Tag der Realität annähert. Mit den unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten der Biotechnologie – Klonen – als Lösung.

Dieses Kunstwerk wirft existenzielle Fragen für Wissenschaft, Religion und Kunst auf. Es ist eine kulturkritische Arbeit, die das Verhältnis zwischen Mensch und aufstrebenden Technologien sichtbar macht.

Zusätzliche Information

Gewicht7.8 kg

Es gibt noch keine Bewertungen.

Nur angemeldete Kunden, die dieses Produkt gekauft haben, dürfen eine Bewertung abgeben.

Videokunst ist nicht generell Digitale Kunst, aber digital erstellte Bildsequenzen können im Resultat als Video erscheinen.

Kategorien: , , , Schlüsselworte: ,
Suche